April Bucket List

Hello. For those of you who don’t know me, I’m Carol. For those who do, I was on TV!

It’s a bit late, I know, but now that it has premiered on TV, I can actually tell you about what I did this April! For my April Bucket List, I was part of a live studio audience for the show, The $100,000 Pyramid, hosted by Michael Strahan! I have never witnessed a live taping before, partly because I never liked the idea of being cooped up in a studio for several hours (anxiety overload). The other part is I never knew where I could find the tickets to be part of a live studio audience.

How did I get these tickets if I wasn’t even looking for them? I know a guy… really a gal. Ok, it’s my sister, Evelyn. She worked on the casting for the show at ABC. She got me and Molly (my other sister. I have two. Keep up.) RESERVED SEATS to see the taping of two episodes of The $100,000 Pyramid. If you’ve never seen the show, it’s like Catchphrase, but two contestants compete with two celebrity guests to win up to $150,000. If you’ve ever seen the show, Friends, Joey was a contestant on the show.

In the month leading up to our arrival in New York, Evelyn was taunting me with clues to who the mystery celebrity guests were. She knew that I would freak out over one of the guests, so she was determined to keep it a secret until she could see my reaction. She’s unusually cruel that way. (Kidding. Love you!)

The day before the show, I got off work a bit early to head to the airport. After a 2 hour delay, getting gum stuck to my shoe ON THE PLANE, waiting another hour in 48ºF weather for an Uber, and getting in at 1 in the morning, it was shaping up to be a great trip.

The next day, Molly and I walked from the top of Central Park to the very bottom. You never know how big Central Park is until you walk the whole length of it in 1 inch heels (Oh, don’t judge. I wanted to look good for TV! You’d have done the same.)

IMG_6399

Carol and Molly at Central Park. No, we aren’t twins.

We made it to the ABC studios and waited in line with a bunch of other people to enter the set. At this point they took away my phone, so I wasn’t able to get any pictures. Confidentiality. You understand. Since Molly and I were given reserved seats (because of our special contact ^_^), we went in first. The studio was a lot smaller than I thought it would be. Everything seems bigger on TV, I guess.

Once everyone was in their seats, one of the crew members came out to get the crowd excited, like a $100,000 Pyramid Cheerleader. He explained what was going to happen, what we needed to do, cracked a few one-liners, and put together a new N*Sync boy band out of people in the audience. Don’t ask. One point he did mention was for us to not shout out answers. If he hadn’t mentioned that, I probably would have been fine. Now that I was aware of the fact that I could ruin the show by yelling out an answer, I had to work extra hard to keep my mouth shut.

Finally, after practicing our clapping, fake laughter, and hooting-and-hollering, the Cheerleader announced the special guests. I was so excited, but even more nervous. I have a bad track record with famous people. I alway expect to be cool, calm, and collected (they are humans, after all) but end up freaking out once I’m face-to-face with them. I didn’t want to look like a crazy person, again. I was expecting only one special guest, so when the Cheerleader said “Our special guests for this episode will be David Arquette.” I deflated a bit. I looked at Molly and just shrugged, as if to say, “I can deal with David Arquette.” Then he dropped the bomb, “And RuPaul.” O_O

O. M. G. RU-FREAKIN-PAUL!!!! I LOVE RUPAUL! My hands instantly covered my face and looked to Evelyn, who was watching me from the camera area. She was laughing uncontrollably because, she knows I love RuPaul’s Drag Race AND how bad I am with famous people. She was waiting for the freak out moment, and she got it. To say I was merely surprised would be an understatement. It took me a couple minutes to recover, but then RuPaul came on set. I was gone. He was as wonderful in real life, as he was on TV.

The taping of the show itself was fun. Michael Strahan was a great host, and the contestants (including RuPaul) played well. As the audience, we laughed when we were asked to laugh, I covered my mouth and clenched my jaw when the actual game was going on (I was not going to be the one who ruined the show), and we clapped constantly. Seriously there was so much clapping! My hands hurt after the first episode! Not to mention my cheeks. So much smiling.

Between taping the first half of the show and the second half, the Cheerleader made everyone uncomfortable by hosting his own version of The Dating Game, but made up for it by throwing chocolate at us.

The second show wasn’t as exciting as the first show. The guests were the brother and sister from the show, This is Us (never watched that show so I don’t have any affinity toward them.) All the same, no one yelled out an answer, everyone played well, and that was that.

IMG_6402

After about 4 hours in the studio, Evelyn, Molly, and I were starving! We went out for coffee, then returned home and watched Pride, Prejudice, and Zombies (I love Lily James, but I still prefer the original…). It was a great day. I was in the same room with one of my idols, I didn’t freak out about being stuck in one seat for 4 hours, and I had a great time watching a game show with my sisters.

Would I do it again? Of course! It was painfully long, but it was interesting watching what goes on behind the scenes. It made it better that my sister was part of the crew! I wouldn’t want to go alone, though, because it is very tedious. They took our phones, so having someone there to talk to made the time go by a bit faster.

When the show finally aired, I didn’t see myself on TV. I was toward the back of the audience, in front of a big pyramid. In the wide, sweeping shots of the audience, there was no way anyone would have seen me. I know I’m there, and that’s all that matters.

Until next time,

Carol B

One thought on “April Bucket List

  1. Pingback: 2017: New year, new plan of action | Measure by Measure

Leave a Reply

