Week 8- Couch to 5K

Hello. For those of you who don’t know me, I’m Carol. For those who do, I’ve leveled up.

Now the moment you’ve all been waiting for (I hope): THE 5K! At the end of May, my Mom and I will be running in the 26th Annual Run for the Pineapple 5K in Sewell’s Point, FL! We are very excited! Once I got the order confirmation for the race, it suddenly became very real. We are doing this. We are ACTUALLY going to run a 5K. Five months of training has led to this very moment. Luckily, it’s still a couple weeks away, and Mom and I are nowhere NEAR ready to run 3.1 miles. And so, we must get serious about our training. No skip days. No excuses. Just get out and run.

pineapple_run_lg.jpg

Week 8 Day 1 Plan:
Stretch
Warm up: 5 minute walk
Run 20 minutes
Cool down: 5 minute walk/ Stretch

We’ve made it, dear readers. I’m now running non-stop! No rests, no walking, just speed. It feels great to be able to run so long without stopping. Well, after the aches and pains subside and I can actually breathe again, THEN it feels great!

It was difficult at first, obviously, but I’m pushing through. I find its helpful to start off with a good, slow pace, so that I can survive the entire 20 minutes. I use the Spotify Running mix to track my pace (I’m around 145-150 bpm), then it picks a selection of music that matches my speed. Its pretty awesome! However, when I start off running, I’m more at 155 bpm because I’m such an eager beaver and “slow running” does not compute in my mind. Right when I finish my warm-up, I am like a race horse shooting out of the gates, like a bullet leaving the barrel of a gun, a cheetah chasing a gazelle, a ROCKET… ok you get it, I’m super fast. By setting my pace ahead of time, I’m forcing myself to slow down. I hate it, but I know its for the best in the end.

I was traveling this week, so one of the days I had to run in the hotel fitness center. I never liked gyms or “fitness centers”. Its awkward when other people are there watching me be gross, sweaty, and not cute. It was a small gym with one treadmill, one elliptical, and one bike. Unfortunately, someone was using the treadmill when I got there, so I opted for the elliptical while my mom took the bike. My inexperience was evident when I didn’t even know how to turn on the darn thing… apparently you just start running and it powers itself. So that was one thing. The next was the fitness center had a glass door on a glass wall. People stopped and stared a couple times. I felt very uncomfortable, especially when it was older gentlemen stopping to watch. Gross.

Finally, an elliptical is nothing like a treadmill. I didn’t know that. They are more like stairs. I’m bad with stairs. So it came as quite a shock when I got off the elliptical (with difficulty) and my legs were in pain. I did that for 25 minutes. 25 MINUTES I was walking up stairs. My legs felt like jelly. It could have also been because I didn’t stretch (remember that glass wall? That’s why).

Week 8 Day 2 Plan:
Stretch
Warm up: 5 minute walk
Run 25 minutes
Cool down: 5 minute walk/ Stretch

If I thought 20 minutes was hard, 25 is even worse. With that being said, I’m running farther than I had before! I think we measured 2.1 miles during our last run. 2.1 MILES! I’m one mile away from a 5K!! Hopefully by Day 3 (30 minutes) we’ll be a little bit closer to 3.1 miles. Now that I’ve recently obtained more time on my hands, I’d like to start running in the mornings, just to get used to waking up early, then forcing myself to run… so much fun. Running in the morning is no different from running late afternoon. It’s still hot, I feel just as gross and tired at the end. The only difference is stretching early in the morning is much harder than stretching in the evening. The positive side to running in the morning is I’m now awake and alert for the rest of the day!

Week 8 Day 3 Plan:
Stretch
Warm up: 5 minute walk
Run 30 minutes
Cool down: 5 minute walk/ Stretch

30 minutes: Complete! It’s a week until the race and I’m starting to get a bit nervous. Mostly, I’m worrying about whether I’ll be able to make it a full 3.1 miles. What if I have to run up a hill? What if I lose all sense of pacing and rush past all the other runners? What if I don’t look even slightly photogenic at the end of the run, like the most photogenic runner ever? These are things that keep me up at night… But anyway, ONE WEEK! I can’t believe it’s already here. I must train as often as I can in order to feel more confident about my performance this Memorial Day weekend… ok, Saturday and Sunday were skip days, BUT NOT TODAY!

I’m gonna CRUSH this 5K! Unless hills are involved… then I’m a goner.

Until the 5K,

Carol B

Leave a Reply

