Week 7- Couch to 5K

Hello. For those of you who don’t know me, I’m Carol. For those who do, this is for my Nana.

It’s been a really crazy couple of weeks. What’s worse is I’ve lost count of the days I’ve been running. So at this point I’m just going to wing it and generalize this week’s experience.

Week 7 Plan:
Stretch
Warm up: 5 minute walk
Run 10 mins/ Walk 3 mins/ Run 10 mins
Cool down: 5 minute walk/ Stretch

It’s gotten to the point where my Mom and I are on two different wavelengths. Sometimes we’ll run together, sometimes we run on opposite days. We’ve given up on trying to run in pace with each other. Actually, we have the same pace, but she just has longer strides than I do, so she always finishes before me.

I’ve recently discovered that Spotify has a Running playlist that measures your pace, then finds music that matches that bpm. It’s pretty cool! I think I’m about 150/155. In other words, I can comfortably run to “Steal My Girl” by One Direction, “Everybody Talks” by Neon Trees, and “Heartbreaker” by Pat Benatar. Eclectic range of music, I know.

Running is getting easier and a bit more fun, but it was hard forcing myself to get out and run the past couple of weeks. A lot going on in my life. Now that its calming down, I’m going to try and get out more so that May’s Bucket List is the 5K! I’m very excited!! Because this week’s update was so… miniscule, I’ll be sure to give you a definitive date on my 5K by the next blog.

Until next week,

Carol B

P.S.- Next week is running WITHOUT WALKING BREAKS!!

Spoiler Alert- I successfully completed a 20 minute run without walking in the middle!

Leave a Reply

