February Bucket List: Part 6

Hello. For those of you who don’t know me, I’m Carol. For those who do, who am I? 24601.

I had the day off from work today because I had to go to the dentist and optometrist. So Mom, who has been preparing all the amazing meals we’ve been eating this week, let me make dinner tonight. I love cooking. It’s been a while since I’ve had time to cook anything, so I made the most of it.

After my eye appointment was done, I went to Publix to gather my ingredients. As I was looking through the shelves, I noticed a lady looking for something on the shelf behind my shopping cart. I thought I was in her way, so I said “Sorry” and moved my cart away to make way for her. She jumped away from me as I was moving my cart, and gave me a cautious look, which I thought was weird. She then took her cart and was about to walk in front of me, but she stopped, turned her cart around, and walked in the opposite direction. I thought the behavior was strange, but didn’t think much of it.

I tried to make different situations in my mind to explain what just happened. She really wanted to get away from me. Then I remembered my eyes: I forgot my eyes were heavily dilated from my eye appointment. I have big eyes to start with, so dilating them makes them creepy looking. Like, this-chick-is-on-drugs creepy. I actually got in trouble in middle school because of my big eyes. The school officer thought I was on drugs (for the record, I was not). Middle school was rough. So that was my adventure for the day. Some lady thought I was on drugs and ran away from me. Here are the day’s meals.

Breakfast:
Bagel with peanut butter and banana. (Shameless promotion)

Lunch:
Sweet Potato Taco with Chick Peas, Detox Salad, and Tahini Dressing (this became a conglomeration of whatever was in the fridge.)

Dinner:
Pesto Pasta, Roasted Root Veg, and Greek Salad.

Roasted Vegetables
4 Carrots, cut into batons
4 Parsnips, cut into batons
2 cups chopped red potatoes
Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper

Preheat oven 400ºF. Cover a roasting pan with aluminum foil. Place prepared vegetables on roasting pan and mix through olive oil, salt, and pepper. Place in the preheated oven for 30-45 minutes, or until a knife easily pierces the veg.

Vegan Pesto (basically regular pesto without cheese)
3 cups Basil
1/3 cup pine nuts
1-3 garlic cloves, minced (depending on how much garlic you like)
1/4 cup olive oil
Salt and Pepper

In a sauté pan, toast off the garlic and pine nuts (be careful not to burn them!! Keep you eye on them just in case. I know from experience) Place basil, pine nuts, and garlic in a food processor and pulse a couple times until the mixture becomes a paste. Turn on the food processor and slowly add in the olive oil. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Greek Salad
1 cup chopped cucumber
1 cup chopped fresh tomato (seeds removed)
1 cup kalamata olives (or whatever olives you have on hand)
2 tbsp chopped mint
Vinaigrette (whatever dressing you can find. A Greek vinaigrette would work great)
Salt and Pepper

Put all ingredients in a bowl. Mix. Done.

One day more (another day another destiny, this never-ending road to Calvary. These men who seem to know my crime will surely come a second time. One day more!),

Carol B

Now that song is stuck in my head… thanks.

Read the finale of my Vegan Week in Day 7

One thought on “February Bucket List: Part 6

  1. Pingback: February Bucket List: Part 5 | Measure by Measure

Leave a Reply

