February Bucket List: Part 3

Hello. For those of you who don’t know me, I’m Carol. For those of you who do, will you be my valentine?

Yes, its that time of year again. Love is in the air, creepy, naked cupids flying around, love birds singing there song, and Carol B sulking in a corner with a rain cloud overhead, eating a box of chocolates and watching another romantic comedy. That’s the normal Valentine’s day routine for me. Unfortunately this year, I am vegan, so buy-one-get-one box of chocolates are out of the question for me. Well, I can always count on Ryan Gosling and Hugh Grant to console me through another Valentine’s Day.

I didn’t think of this before, but now, I’m thinking of this week as an ultimate detox. Purely vegetables, fruits, and whole grains (and the mega sugary almond milk coffee creamer). I should state that it isn’t my goal to lose weight this week. That would be nice, but it’s not a top priority. I’m fine with my weight. I think I look awesome. Honestly, I’m doing this just to say that I can, and to learn and understand a different way of living.

I originally thought vegans were uptight, terrible, stuck up people. I thought vegans required the world to revolve around them because they were of a higher caliber since they were saving animals. I’m ashamed to say that my idea of vegans is all a stereotype… some people may fit that mold, but it shouldn’t define a population. Now that I’m walking in their shoes, I don’t blame them for being uptight and stuck up. Its hard to be a vegan. Its hard to find a restaurant that caters to a vegan diet that isn’t a salad bar. When grocery shopping, its hard to find a reliable vegan brand. There aren’t many vegan brands in Publix. Trust me, I’ve checked. If food labels don’t scream out “WE’RE VEGAN!”, you have to read every single ingredient to double check. There is no greater disappointment than when you find a delicious-looking bar of chocolate, read through an ingredient list, and find “Contains Dairy” at the bottom of the list. Its a sacrifice these people make for the greater good, and God bless them. Whoever willingly gives up their right to eat milk chocolate for life is way stronger than me. Can you tell I’m missing my annual box of on sale chocolates? It’s all I can think about now…

Anyway, here are today’s meals:

Breakfast: Blueberry, Strawberry, Banana, and Almond Milk Smoothie with coffee. (Seriously though. That almond milk creamer is SUPER SWEET! I usually sweeten my coffee but I really don’t need to with this hazelnut creamer. You’d think the recipe developers at So Delicious wanted to mask the taste of the actual almond milk… what are you hiding, So Delicious? Is it really SO delicious? hmmm…)

Mid Morning Snack: Bar Nuts. I really love this recipe. Lots of rosemary and a bit spicy from the cayenne. Super easy to make and you can use any combination of nuts. Just substitute the butter for coconut oil to make it vegan. But if you aren’t vegan, just use the butter. I miss butter…

Bar Nuts

Lunch: Falafel leftovers… nothing special… it was almost better the second day, though. Oh, and olives. I ate olives too.

Dinner:
Marrakesh Vegetable Curry with more Pizza/flatbread and rice.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

Now if you will excuse me, I have a date with Joseph Fiennes and this chocolate bar.

Love,

Carol B

Continue reading more about my Vegan Week in Day 4

One thought on “February Bucket List: Part 3

  1. Pingback: February Bucket List: Part 2 | Measure by Measure

Leave a Reply

