Day 2: Couch to 5K

Hello. For those of you who don’t know me, I’m Carol. For those who do, it’s just Carol.

Day 2 of my 5K training is completed! Yesterday was a rest day, which means I did a light yoga practice instead of running. For those of you interested in getting into yoga, I highly suggest you do! It’s not as intense as a regular workout. It’s more stretching and relaxing rather than cardio, endurance, weight lifting and the like. For the record, I’d like to state that, in my experience, pain does NOT directly correlate with “gain”. The more realistic scenario is work out, experience pain, quit… I never last long enough to reap the benefits of the pain.

I started with Yoga With Adriene’s 30 Day of Yoga YouTube playlist. I really enjoyed how energized I felt after each practice. You can do it from the comfort of your home, go at your own pace, and you won’t feel like your competing with anyone else. It’s a bit awkward at first, but hey, no one is watching. You do you. (I highly recommend Yoga With Adriene‘s YouTube channel. She is amazing)

Anyway, back to running. My mom and I went out after I got home from work, around 5:30. I got out of my car, put on something to run in, stretched quickly, then went right back outside, 10 minutes max. I’m worried if I sit down at all, I won’t get back up. Today’s routine was 5 minute walking warm up, alternate between 1 minute of running and 1.5 minutes of walking 8 times, then a 5 minute cool down; that’s 30 minutes total. Now, if you have ever lived in South Florida, you know that it gets SUPER humid a couple days before it rains, especially in the afternoon. Well, let me just say… it’s gonna rain. Florida humidity is, as my friend Olivia would say, “Mouth Weather”. Just imagine drinking the air. That’s Florida humidity for you. I could avoid that issue all together by waking up early…

yea, no. Afternoon runs are great in case I get sore, then I have the night to repair. If I went in the morning, I would have missed this beautiful sunset. I’m surprised this picture didn’t turn out blurry. I took it at the very end of our run and my arms were shaking. So here it is.Florida Sunset
After about 4 repetitions of running/walking, I was really starting to feel the pain in my shins and lower calfs. I was silently wishing I had stretched more. My mom and I agree that we can run through the labored breathing, but the muscle pain is terrible. I found myself clenching my fists and tightening my shoulders the more tired I felt. When I realized this, I made an effort to loosen up. Surprisingly, it made the run much easier to bare. I’m finding that keeping loose and relaxed in the upper body is key, along with a steady breathing pattern.

My running app originally told us to do 8 running/walking repetitions, but after 7, it started the cool down. Don’t tell Mom, but I might have hit a button that skipped the 8th repetition… oops. It was a nice surprise, but since we were preparing ourselves for that last minute of running, we did the 8th repetition anyway. I felt weird because I kept thinking I pressed a button, but Mom was so proud of herself for deciding to soldier on with that 8th run. I let her have her victorious Rocky moment.

When we got home, we stretched a bit more to cool down, then collapsed on the couch. I don’t feel sore now, but I have a sneaking suspicion that tomorrow is going to be rough. Maybe I’ll finally be able to gain something from the pain.

Until Day 3,

Carol B

Leave a Reply

