Day 1: Couch to 5K training

Hello. For those who don’t know me, I’m Carol. For those who do, I’m still Carol.

As part of my 2017 Monthly Bucket List, I am starting to train for a 5K. Which 5K is yet to be determined. I’m hoping something in Disney, because I love Disney a lot.

My mom and I have a way of taking one idea and exploding it out of proportion. If we eat a really good burger at a restaurant, the obvious next course of action for us would be to buy a cow and raise it just to recreate that burger (sorry Vegans). So as the story goes, on New Years Day, my mom and I were feeling sluggish. We decided to go for a walk around the neighborhood to get our blood pumping and shake off the sleepiness. The more we walk, the more active we feel, which leads to more unrealistic expectations of what our post-Christmas bodies can actually do. This flood of happy hormones prompted me to say, “Hey, let’s train for a 5K! We can do it. It’ll be great!” So now we are training for a 5K.

The next logical step in this process is to research 5K training for beginners, buy every book known to man, buy a bazillion outfits in every color, download the running apps that keep track of your progress, how far you ran, and your heart rate, then watch videos and read blogs about other peoples experiences. ONLY THEN will we be able to start training. Note: I’m not Sporty Spice. I don’t do sports, exercise is a terrible word, and I hate sweating. The extent of my physical exertion is standing up to get to the fridge. So really, this is a perfect Bucket List candidate.

This morning, I ate a light breakfast (2 blueberry muffins and a smoothie), drank a cup of coffee, and half a glass of water. For some reason, I thought it was a good idea to eat before running for the first time in… well never. I never ran before. Shaping up to be a great couple months, don’t you think? Everything turned out fine in the end, but I wouldn’t recommend running with a stomach full of smoothie and 2 blueberry muffins. After breakfast, I put on my running gear and stretched a bit. Based on my note earlier, you can probably guess the amount of active wear I have in my closet. One sports bra, one pair of running shorts that don’t really fit, and one pair of yoga pants. That’s it. So when I say running gear, it’s more like yoga/running/old-shirt-used-for-painting-that-one-time/random-tank-top-I-got-on-sale-at-Target gear. Thankfully, I have running shoes. If I didn’t, I’d be running in Sperrys. I can almost imagine the discomfort.

After kind of stretching my legs, I turned on my 5K Runner App, grabbed my mom, and began our route around the neighborhood. The plan was a 5 minute warm-up/ walk, then alternate between 1 minute running and 1.5 minutes walking (repeated 6 times), ending with a 5 minute cool down/ walk. In total the time would be 25 minutes. We started off great. We were talking and laughing, having a great time, then the first minute of running started. I was thinking “Okay, this isn’t too bad. I can do this”. With each repetition of running and walking, the conversation became replaced with heavy breathing and the sound of our sneakers scraping the pavement below. The only time we talked was to count down the time left to run or to figure out which direction to go in order to land ourselves right at our front door when the 25 minutes were up.

We survived Day 1! Here’s a picture to prove it. You can almost see the life draining out of me:

If anyone needs me, I’ll be in the Arctic-like pool for the next month. Thankfully, tomorrow is a rest day.

Until Day 2,

Carol B

Leave a Reply

