2017: New year, new plan of action

Hello. For those of you who don’t know me, I’m Carol. For those who do, I’m also Carol.

As I’m sure you know, 2016 was a strange year for everyone, me included. I had my fair share of ups and downs. I graduated college (finally!), I had a 2 month internship in London, worked 4 different jobs (not at the same time. Don’t be silly), and just about cured myself of anxiety. I’ve been very lucky this past year, and I’m grateful for the experiences and the people who helped make them happen.

This year, I plan to do something different with my life. Every month in 2017, I’m going to do something I have either never done before or have been to scared to do before now. Remember how I mentioned I had “just about cured myself of anxiety”? For the past 7 years, I have been plagued with anxiety and the fear of panic attacks. It held me back from challenging myself, from “expanding my horizons”, as my dad would say. My main issues were performing, driving, and heights. I altered my lifestyle a bit to help ease the physical effects. For example, I started to do yoga, drank decaf coffee, ate a more organic, well-rounded diet, and took myself out of situations that I believed would cause a flair up of anxiety. If you want to know more about this journey, let me know and I’ll elaborate more in a different post.

I decided around Christmas that I was tired of being scared. I want to be able to say “Yes” more often. And why not? I’m in the prime of my life! I’m young, single, and physically able (kind of; anyone who knows me knows I’m not athletic or active in the slightest…). I shouldn’t be stuck at home all day watching Seinfeld reruns and Hallmark movies. From that feeling of self empowerment, an idea was born. Every month, I have a goal to work toward. Think of it as a mid-20s bucket list. Unfortunately, my list is looking more and more physically demanding. *sigh* Well crap… I’m going to have to work out now…

2017 BUCKET LIST: (TO BE CONTINUED…)

*More coming soon

By posting and sharing this blog, I’m hoping more people will hold me to this resolution, and it will force me to write regularly. Here’s to great new year!

Carol B

One thought on “2017: New year, new plan of action

Leave a Reply

